ONA17 Program Team

The ONA17 Program Team is a volunteer group of practitioners, educators and students in news media who help shape the educational programming at the Online News Association annual conference.

The Program Team’s role includes:

  • Help ONA determine which topics or sessions are most relevant for this year’s conference
  • Review each submission to the ONA Suggestion Box, the public call for pitches to our conference, and recommend the best sessions to be included on our conference schedule
  • Help with outreach to ensure high quality, diverse presenters


Members of the Program Team

Michelle Baruchman
University of Georgia
ONA Board

Fergus Bell
Founder; News & Media Consultant
Dig Deeper Media

Evonne Benedict
Audience Engagement Manager
KING Broadcasting (Tegna)

April D. Bethea
Homepage producer
The Washington Post

Julia B. Chan
Producer & Digital Editor

Federica Cherubini
International Head of Knowledge Sharing
Condé Nast International

Amy Eisman
Director, Media Entrepreneurship & Special Programs
School of Communication, American University

Marie Gilot
Director of CUNY J+
CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Monica Guzman
The Evergrey

Andrew Haeg
Founder & CEO

Celeste LeCompte
Director of Business Development
ONA Board of Directors

Samantha McCann
Director of Communities
Solutions Journalism Network

Michael McKisson
Professor of Practice
University of Arizona School of Journalism

Matt Moreno
Digital Content Assistant
Fox Sports Midwest

Micah Peoples
Computer Science Student
The University of Texas at Austin

Adam Smith
Deputy Community Editor
The Economist

Melody Stone
Assistant Professor of Visual Journalism
Reynolds School of Journalism

Amanda Zamora
Chief Audience Officer
Texas Tribune